Sunday Jan 13

This was a long  bus travel day.  My step counter only has 9292 steps on it.

This morning we left Paris and headed to Reims where we worshiped in the Reims Cathedral.  The service was in French and our group doubled the size of the congregation.

The Reims Cathedral has been the site of many coronations.  My last name is “De Rooy” which I’m told is most likely from people that fled France to Holland during the revolution and either means “of the king” or “the king”.  I prefer the later translation :-).  If I continue with this mythological story then I could say that my family members of long ago were crowned in this church. For me I just get crowned in my dentist office…..

IMG_7202 IMG_7206 IMG_7208 IMG_7210 IMG_7211 IMG_7212 IMG_7213

For a very short clip of the organ playing at the end of the service you can right-click on this link and “save as” the file to your computer to play the video clip.

http://stru.calvin.edu/~lderooy/europe13/ReimsCathedral.AVI

For lunch I had a hard time understanding the menu so I picked something to go along with my coffee.  I was very good.

IMG_7215

We then hoped on the bus and went to the Lorraine American Cemetery and Memorial located near Metz at the meeting point of the Seille and Moselle rivers.  Technically we were on American soil.  It was a somber place to be.  This is one of several cemeteries in Europe with mainly soldiers from WWII.   At 113 Acres there are 10,487 headstones – most of them young men the same age as the students.  Being there made quite an impact on many of the students (and profs) about the price of freedom – something that we take for granted.

IMG_7216 IMG_7217 IMG_7218 IMG_7219 IMG_7220 IMG_7221 IMG_7222 IMG_7223 IMG_7224 IMG_7225 IMG_7226

It started to snow this evening – things will get colder as we continue our journey.  Tomorrow we will vist Steelcase in Strasbourg in the morning and then head to Germany towards Heidelberg.

Leave a Reply

